Water Towers of Ireland

Here’s a short  and roughly-produced interview with James Young of Water Towers of Ireland. Since last summer, James has been taking pictures of water towers across Ireland. In this interview James talks to me about why water towers and why their presence and absence on the landscape are significant. Here’s the 6 minute interview, a real noob affair, recorded using my Canon 400d and a Nokia 5230.

For me, James’s work represents many of the themes that I have identified in my own work on Dublin’s Marian statues: places of unnoted significance, each with stories and each significant for very different reasons. Their function is clear but their intetion for those present around them is not. This is unfinished work for James: he wants to talk with people who live in the local area around these pushpins on the landscape. There are many more stories than there are sites.

